SCAODA Council Membership

SCAODA is a statutory council that provides leadership in Wisconsin on substance use disorders. There are 22 statutory members, including six citizen members and one citizen member representing providers. The citizen members are appointed by the Governor. SCAODA also has 11 ex officio members and five standing committees:

Please visit the Applying for Membership page within this website to find more information on how to apply and serve as a SCAODA citizen member. Listed below are the Council and ex officio members, including designees. (Note that the listed state agency secretaries are tentative members, subject to confirmation by the Wisconsin Legislature.)

Please see the individual committee pages for more information about the work of the committees and how to become a committee member.

Statutory Members Member Designee
1. The Governor Tony Evers Jessica Geschke
2. The Attorney General Josh Kaul Tina Virgil
3. The State Superintendent of Public Instruction Carolyn Stanford Taylor Brian Dean
4. The Secretary, Department of Health Services Andrea Palm Julie Willems Van Dijk
5. The Commissioner of Insurance Mark Afable Roger Frings
6. The Secretary, Department of Corrections Kevin Carr Autumn Lacy
7. The Secretary, Department of Transportation Craig Thompson Jan Grebel
8. The Chairperson of the Pharmacy Examining Board Philip Trapskin John Weitekamp
9. A Representative of the Controlled Substances Board Dr. Subhadeep Barman N/A

10. Governor's Law Enforcement and Crime Commission


11. Citizen Member

Mary Ann Gerrard

12. Citizen Member Sandy Hardie  
13. Citizen Member Thai Vue  
14. Citizen Member Kevin Florek  
15. Citizen Member Mike Knetzger  
16. Citizen Member Terry Schemenauer  
17. Citizen Member representing Providers Christine Ullstrup  

18. A member of the Wisconsin County Human Service Association, Inc.

Sue Shemanski


19. State Representative Minority Party Representative Jill Billings  
20. State Representative Majority Party To be filled  
21. State Senator Minority Party Senator Janet Bewley  
22. State Senator Majority Party Senator Patrick Testin  


Ex Officio Members Member Designee
1. University of Wisconsin System Ray Cross Jennifer Wickman
2. Secretary, Department Of Revenue Peter Barca Ann DeGarmo
3. Secretary, Department Of Workforce Development Caleb Frostman Delora Newton
4. Secretary, Department Of Safety and Professional Services Dawn Crim Christian Albouras
5. Wisconsin Technical College System Morna Foy Timothy Weir
6. Department Of Veterans Affairs Mary Kolar Colleen Rinken
7. Liaison to the Wisconsin Mental Health Council TBD N/A
8. Liaison to the WI Board for People with Developmental Disabilities Beth Swedeen Fil Clissa
9. Wisconsin Department of Health Services, Division of Public Health Dr. Mark Wegner N/A
10. Secretary, Department of Children and Families Emilie Amundson Kenyon Kies
11. Addictionologist - WI Society of Addiction Medicine Dr. Andrew Putney N/A

During the Sept. 6, 2019 meeting, Council members elected the following persons to serve as Council officers:

  • Council Chair:  Roger Frings
  • Council Vice Chair:  Sandy Hardie
  • Council Secretary:  VACANT